Editing a Feed

If you need to change the name, key, or description of your feed, you can do that by navigating to your feed and clicking the gear icon under the Feed Information menu on the right hand side of the screen.

You will be presented with a form so you can edit the name, key, and description of the feed. The key for a feed can be used when accessing the feed programatically. By default, the key is a lowercase version of your feed name with any spaces replaced with dashes. You can modify the key to be any unique combination of lowercase letters, numbers, and dashes.

Click Save once you have finished editing the values.

License Settings

If you are sharing data publicly, you should set the appropriate license for your data. You can choose to reserve all rights for the data, or license it under any of the Creative Commons licenses in the list.

To change the license for your feed, click on the gear icon under the License menu on the bottom right of the screen. You will be presented with a list of licenses to select from. Click on the license to save your selection.

You will then be presented with a menu of licenses to select from.

Click on the Save button to save your license selection.

Privacy Settings

If you would like to share your data publicly, you can change your feed's privacy settings to make the feed public. To do this, you will need to click on the gear icon under the Privacy menu on the right hand side of the screen.

Select either Public or Private from the menu, and click the Save button to change feed visibility.

Notification Settings

When notifications are activated, Adafruit IO will send an email to alert you if no new data has been received for your feed within the given amount of time. To change the notification settings for your feed, click on the gear icon under the Notifications menu on the right hand side of the screen.

Feed Notifications are an Adafruit IO+ (Plus) Only Feature

Next, enable notifications by selecting ON from the status menu, and selecting a timeout. Click Save when finished.

History Settings

Turning history off for your feed will mean only the last value received is stored. History is on for all new feeds by default, but you can turn history off if you would like to push large values. By default you can push values up to 1KB in length, but with feed history off, you can publish values up to 100KB in length.

To change the history settings for your feed, click on the gear icon under the Feed History menu on the right hand side of the screen.

Next, enable or disable history by selecting ON or OFF from the menu, and click Save.

Finished with a project and want to delete the feed? Let's learn how to do that

This guide was first published on Apr 20, 2015. It was last updated on Apr 20, 2015. This page (Editing a Feed) was last updated on Jul 30, 2018.