Editing a Dashboard

If you wish to change the name of your dashboard, you can do that from the list of your dashboards. First, select the dashboard you wish to edit by clicking on the checkbox next to its name.

Next, click on the Actions menu and select Edit Selected Dashboard from the dropdown menu.

You will be presented with a form with three text inputs:

  • Name - A short descriptive title of your data. Letters, numbers, and spaces are valid characters, and this field is required. The feed name must be unique for your account.
  • Key - Used when accessing the dashboard programatically. By default, the key is a lowercase version of your dashboard name with spaces removed. You can modify the key to be any unique combination of lowercase letters, numbers, and dashes.
  • Description - A long form description of your data. This field is not required, but it's useful to provide a detailed description if your dashboard will be public.

Once you have finished editing these fields, click the Save button.

Rearranging and Resizing Blocks

If you have created a dashboard with multiple blocks, you might want to rearrange them or resize them. This is possible by clicking the gear button on the upper right hand side of your dashboard.

The animation below demonstrates how to resize and rearrange blocks. You can resize a block by clicking on the bottom right corner and dragging to make the block smaller or larger. To move a block, click on the outer perimeter of the block, and drag the block to its new location. Click the DONE EDITING button when you are finished.

Making a Dashboard Public or Private

By default, new dashboards are only visible to you, but you can make them visible to anyone by clicking on the lock button on the upper right hand side of the screen. This button will toggle the dashboard between public and private.

By making a dashboard public, you will also be setting all attached feeds to public as well. Click the OK button to confirm.

Once a dashboard has been marked as public, a share button will appear next to the open lock button. Click on the share button to get the public dashboard link.

To toggle the dashboard back to private, click on the lock button again.

Editing a Block

If you wish to edit a block, you will need to enter dashboard edit mode by clicking on the gear on the upper right hand side of the screen.

Next, click the gear icon on the upper right hand corner of the block you wish to edit.

A form similar to the one you used to create the block will appear. You can change the feeds attached to the block if needed, and click Next Step to continue.

You can also edit the block settings if needed. Click Update Block to finish editing.

Click the DONE EDITING button on the upper right hand side of the screen to exit dashboard edit mode.

Deleting a Block

If you wish to delete a block, you will need to enter dashboard edit mode by clicking on the gear on the upper right hand side of the screen.

You can delete a block by clicking on the trash can icon at the top right hand corner of the block while in dashboard edit mode.

Click the DONE EDITING button on the upper right hand side of the screen to exit dashboard edit mode.

This guide was first published on Apr 21, 2015. It was last updated on Apr 21, 2015. This page (Editing a Dashboard) was last updated on Nov 13, 2019.